The 13th Annual
Peptide Therapeutics

The Salk Institute – La Jolla, CA
October 25 – 26, 2018

Register Now


Thursday, October 25, 2018

11:00 a.m. – 5:30 p.m.

Registration Check-in

1:00 p.m. – 1:15 p.m.

Opening Remarks

Richard DiMarchi, Ph.D.

Chairman of the Board, Peptide Therapeutics Foundation

Distinguished Professor of Chemistry, Gill Chair in Biomolecular Sciences, Department of Chemistry, Indiana University

VP and Site Director, Novo Nordisk Research Center, Indianapolis

1:15 p.m. – 2:45 p.m.

Plenary Lecture Moderator:

Andrew Parker, Zealand Pharma

1:15 p.m. – 2:00 p.m.

Jim Wells, University of California, San Francisco, Modulating Biological Signaling Through Protein and Small Molecule Design for Therapeutic Purposes

2:00 p.m. – 2:45 p.m.

Tom Muir, Princeton University, Houdini Proteins: Discovery and Applications of Ultrafast Inteins

2:45 p.m. – 3:30 p.m.

Beverage break and poster viewing

3:30 p.m. – 5:30 p.m.

Session I Moderator:

Claudio D. Schteingart, Ferring Research Institute, Inc.

3:30 p.m. – 4:00 p.m.

Timo Nuijens, EnzyPep, Efficient Chemo-enzymatic Synthesis (CEPS) of Incretin Peptides

4:00 p.m. – 4:30 p.m.

Carsten Behrens, Novo Nordisk, Extending the Circulating Half-life of Clot Factors by Conjugation to the Natural Carbohydrate Polymer Heparosan

4:30 p.m. – 5:00 p.m.

Sofia Elouali, GlyTech, Chemically Synthesized Glycosylated Somatostatin Analogs with High Metabolic Stability and Native-like Binding Affinity to all Five Receptor Subtypes

5:00 p.m. – 5:30 p.m.

State-of-the-Art Assessment of Chemo-enzymatic and Enzymatic Synthesis

Rodney Lax, Ph.D., Rodney Lax Consulting


James P. Tam, Ph.D., Nanyang Technological University, Singapore

5:30 p.m. – 7:00 p.m.

Poster Session & Reception

Friday, October 26, 2018

7:00 a.m. – 11:30 a.m.

Registration Check-in

7:00 a.m. – 8:15 a.m.

Breakfast & Poster Viewing

8:15 a.m. – 8:30 a.m.

Welcoming Remarks
Soumitra Ghosh, Ph.D.
Director and President, Peptide Therapeutics Foundation
President, Doon Associates LLC

8:30 a.m. – 9:50 a.m.

Plenary Lectures Moderator:

Yvonne Angell, ChemPartner

8:30 a.m. – 9:10 a.m.

Paul Schimmel, The Scripps Research Institute, Alternative Forms and Activities of Human tRNA Synthetases in Biology and Disease

9:10 a.m. – 9:50 a.m.

Sir David Lane, A*STAR, Constrained Peptides and Mini Proteins as Novel Therapeutics Targeting p53

9:50 a.m. – 10:30 a.m.

Beverage Break & Poster Viewing

10:30 a.m. – 11:00 a.m.


Adrienne Day, Ferring Research Institute, Inc.

Michael K. Dunn, Ferring Research Institute, Inc.,  Peptide Therapeutics Update

11:00 a.m. – 12:30 p.m.

Session II Moderator:

Fa Liu, Novo Nordisk

11:00 a.m. – 11:30 a.m.

Andrew Parker, Zealand Pharma, Glepaglutide, a Novel Long-acting Glucagon-like Peptide-2 Analog for the Treatment of Patients with Short Bowel Syndrome

11:30 a.m. – 12:00 p.m.

Colleen Craig, Eiger BioPharmaceuticals, Development of Avexitide for Treatment of Post-Bariatric Hypoglycemia

12:00 p.m. – 12:30 p.m.

Manuel Aivado, Aileron Therapeutics, Inc., ALRN-6924, a Stapled α-helical Peptide, Reactivates Wild-type p53 by Inhibiting MDMX and MDM2 in in vitro Cell Assays, in vivo Animal Models, and in Patients
with Cancer

12:30 p.m. – 1:30 p.m.

Lunch & Poster Viewing

1:30 p.m. – 3:00 p.m.

Session III Moderator:

Rajiv Sharma, Zydus Cadila

1:30 p.m. – 2:00 p.m.

Catherine Wu, Dana-Farber Cancer Institute, Identifying and Targeting Tumor Neoantigens

2:00 p.m. – 2:30 p.m.

Dieter Willbold, Institute of Physical Biology Dusseldorf, About the High Resolution Aβ(1-42) Fibril Structure – and the Orally Available Clinical Stage all-d-Enantiomeric Peptide PRI-002 that Reverts Cognition Deficits and Decelerates Neurodegeneration in Transgenic AD Mouse Models

2:30 p.m. – 3:00 p.m.

Elena Pasquale, Sanford Burnham Prebys Medical Discovery Institute, Targeting Eph Receptors with Agonist and Antagonist Peptides

3:00 p.m. – 3:30 p.m.

Beverage Break & Poster Viewing

3:30 p.m. – 5:00 p.m.

Session IV Moderator:

Waleed Danho, Hoffman-La Roche, Inc.

3:30 p.m. – 4:00 p.m.

Joel Schneider, National Cancer Institute, Injectable Peptide Gels for the Local Delivery of Drugs

4:00 p.m. – 4:30 p.m.

Stephen Daly, Adocia, BioChaperone®: A Platform to Improve Solubility and Stability of Therapeutic Proteins and Peptides

4:30 p.m. – 5:00 p.m.

Sebastian Parlee, Novo Nordisk, Definition of Endocrine FGF Structure as a Means to Super-agonism

5:00 p.m. – 5:15 p.m.

Closing Remarks

Adrienne Day, Ph.D. 

Treasurer and Secretary of the Board, Peptide Therapeutics Foundation

Senior Director, Business Development, Ferring Research Institute, Inc.

5:15 p.m. – 6:15 p.m.

Closing Reception


Peptide Therapeutic Foundation announces the recipients of the Ferring Research Institute Innovation Grants Program for 2017:

Stéphane Bolduc – CHU de Québec – Université Laval Research Center

Marcello Costa – Flinders University

Warren Foster – University of California, San Diego

Andrew Horne – University of Edinburgh

K. Joseph Hurt – University of Colorado

Ursula Kaiser – Brigham and Women’s Hospital, Harvard Medical School

Sarah Marshall – Monash University

Kathryn Meier – Washington State University

Victor Navarro – Brigham and Women’s Hospital, Harvard Medical School

Willis Samson – Saint Louis University, School of Medicine

John Taylor – Kansas University Medical Center

Suraj Unniappan – University of Saskatchewan

Henrique Veiga-Fernandes – Champalimaud Foundation

Meet the 2016 Recipients
Stuart Brierley – Flinders University
James Deane – Hudson Institute of Medical Research
Laurent Derre – Centre Hospitalier Universitaire Vaudois
Renjie Jin– Vanderbilt University
Florenta Kullmann – University of Pittsburgh
Mireille Lahoud – Monash University
Padma Murthi – Monash University
Markus Muttenthaler – University of Queensland
Rodrigo Pacheco – Fundación Ciencia & Vida
Aritro Sen – University of Rochester Medical Center
Marie van Dijk – Academic Medical Center, University of Amsterdam


October 25-26, 2018

The 13th Annual Peptide
Therapeutics Sympsium

The Salk Institute
La Jolla, California